8 Things You Should Never Compromise On In A Relationship

Kirstie Taylor
4 min readJan 18, 2020
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

Getting into a romantic relationship with another human being is complicated.

You both have your own thoughts, beliefs, backgrounds, and past experiences. Merging those into one, cohesive relationship comes with some work.

But while a relationship is about understanding and sometimes giving instead of getting, there are a few things you should never compromise in a relationship.

In my current relationship, things just work. We have the same end goals in life, we communicate well. But that’s a far cry from my past relationships. I compromised everything from seeing my friends to my values. I even once agreed to a casual relationship, even though that’s far from what I was comfortable with.

Flexibility is essential in a relationship, but only to a certain extent. When you start to compromise on things that make you who you are, that’s when the relationship becomes unhealthy.

For a happy, healthy relationship, make sure never to compromise on these things:

Your Friends And Family

A great partner is going to be accepting of your friends, even if they’re not jumping at every chance to hang out with them.

--

--

Kirstie Taylor

Want to feel confident and secure when dating? Grab my 30-day dating guide, "From Anxious to Secure." kirstietaylor.com/guide // IG: @kirstietaylorr //